Quantum Matter Academy

The Quantum Matter Academy (QMA) takes care of all cluster related academic teaching and personnel development measures concerning early career researchers at all stages within our cluster of excellence.  Most importantly, the QMA intends to foster a cluster-wide common spirit among the PhD students and postdocs, with the central goal to build bridges between research groups and, therefore, between Würzburg and Dresden. Regular meetings such as the annual QMA retreat or the Cluster retreat are intended to give young scientists the opportunity to network.

Below you find an overview of the offers that you can take advantage of/participate in as a QMA member



If you have any questions regarding the mentioned offers or the QMA in general, please do not hesitate to contact our QMA coordinator Kerstin Brankatschk (kerstin.brankatschk@tu-dresden.de).


QMA Representatives

Our early career researchers are an important part of the cluster. Their interests are represented in the committees by the QMA representatives, who are elected every two years.

The election of these representatives are held during the QMA retreats with the latest QMA reprentatives being elected in Erfurt 2021.


The Young Scientist Representatives for the Steering Committee are:


Alexander Fritzsche from TP1 in Würzburg

I’m a PhD student in Würzburg supervised by Prof. Ronny Thomale and Prof. Alexander Szameit from the University of Rostock. I’m interested in topological metamaterials and spent the first part of my PhD in Rostock working in the field of photonics. In Würzburg, I focus more on topological phenomena in electric circuits.


Dr. Markus Leisegang from EP2 in Würzburg

During my PhD, I developed the molecular nanoprobe technique (MONA) to measure transport on the nanoscale with an STM. Since we use a single molecule as a detector, we are interested in the interaction between molecules and surfaces of interest in addition to transport measurements. I finished my PhD and continue as a junior scientist in the group of Matthias Bode.


The Young Scientist Representatives for the Flex Fund Selection Committee:


David Moser from ITP, TU Dresden

I'm a PhD student supervised by Dr. Lukas Janssen and belong to the Emmy Noether group for Quantum Critical Matter. I'm interested in quantum phase transitions, frustrated magnetism, and exotic states of matter, such as Weyl semimetals or topological insulators. I enjoy working with renormalization group techniques and field theoretical approaches in general.


Fabian Jakubczyk from ITP, TU Dresden

As a Phd student in the group of Prof. Dr. Carsten Timm, my research is located in the field of theoretical condensed matter physics, more precisely I am interested in interaction effects in topological superconductors. Furthermore, I am co-supervised by Prof. Dr. Ewelina Hankiewicz from Julius-Maximilians-Universität of Würzburg.


Our website uses cookies and Google Analytics to guarantee you the best possible user experience. You can find more information in our privacy policy.