ct.qmat23 – Topology, Excitons, and Quantum Spin Hall Effect

Date & Facts

1314 Jul 2023


Important Dates

Monday, May 29, 2023: Opening of registration
Sunday, June 11, 2023: Registration deadline
Thursday, July 13, 2023: Start of international workshop
Friday, July 14, 2023: End of international workshop



The international workshop on Complexity and Topology in Quantum Matter 2023 (ct.qmat23) will be held at the Röntgen Lecture Hall of the Physics Department at Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg, located at Am Hubland, 97074 Würzburg, Germany.



If you have any questions regarding the workshop, please contact us via l-tp1@physik.uni-wuerzburg.de


For the registration and further information, please visit our ct.qmat23 workshop homepage!


ct.qmat23 is an international workshop on emerging quantum phenomena resulting from topological physics and its interplay with many-body interactions in diverse quantum matter settings, from topological electron materials to quantum spin systems to photonics. Related contributions from other novel platforms (e.g., topological excitonics, phononics and magnonics, ultracold atoms, etc.) are highly welcome. The idea of ct.qmat23 is to bring together experts from different communities and review the present state of the field of topological physics.


The workshop is organized by the Würzburg-Dresden Cluster of Excellence ct.qmat - Complexity and Topology in Quantum Matter and the SFB 1170 ToCoTronics - Topological and Correlated Electronics at Surfaces and Interfaces. It will also be an occasion to celebrate the eightieth birthday of Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Werner Hanke, who has decisively shaped the profile of condensed-matter theory in Würzburg in the past decades.

Invited Speakers

Keynote Talks
B. Andrei Bernevig (Princeton University)
Eugene Demler (ETH Zürich)
Allan H. MacDonald (UT Austin)
Laurens W. Molenkamp (JMU Würzburg)
Lucia Reining (CNRS Paris)

Invited Talks
Enrico Arrigoni (TU Graz)
Alexey Chernikov (TU Dresden)
Domenico Di Sante (University of Bologna)
Gang Li (ShanghaiTech)
Christian Schneider (Universität Oldenburg)
Maia Vergniory (MPI CPfS Dresden)
Binghai Yan (Weizmann Institute, Israel)



Click here to download the workshop program.


Scientific Program Committee/Workshop Chairs

Ralph Claessen (JMU Würzburg)
Ronny Thomale (JMU Würzburg)


Local Organizing Team (JMU Würzburg)

Ralph Claessen
Ronny Thomale
Tobias Kiessling
Madalina Koch
Monika Seifer
Björn Trauzettel

Our website uses cookies and Google Analytics to guarantee you the best possible user experience. You can find more information in our privacy policy.